Langley’s Spartans name top athletes

Trinity Western University handed out several awards at its annual athletics banquet.

Trinity Western University honoured during its annual athletics banquet April 12 at the Langley Events Centre.

The Spartans Female Athlete of the Year award went to women’s volleyball fourth-year right side Elly Wendel, while the Spartans Male Athlete of the Year award went to track and field sprinter Nathan George.

Wendel was a CIS First Team All-Canadian and helped the Spartans to a Canada West championship and a CIS silver medal, while George won CIS gold in the 300m after posting a time of 33.52 seconds, which was the third fastest in CIS history.

Spartans men’s volleyball libero Tyler Koslowsky and women’s soccer midfielder Ali Oliverio took home the Spartans most prestigious honour at the banquet as they were each awarded the Complete Champion Award.

The volleyball and soccer stars were honoured with the evening-capping Complete Champion Awards, which are given to senior student-athletes who are “outstanding in athletic achievements, who advance to the edge of their abilities both academically and personally, and who also demonstrate leadership and a desire to grow spiritually.”

The Bahta Melles Award for servant leadership went to fourth-year women’s track and field and cross country athlete Hannah Ryan and fourth-year men’s soccer defender Taylor Johnson.

The Spartans Female Scholar Athlete of the Year award went to women’s track and field fifth-year high jumper Emma Nuttall and the Male Scholar Athlete of the Year award went to fifth-year men’s soccer midfielder Brayden Gant.

The Rookie of the Year Awards went to women’s soccer forward Rachel Hutchinson and men’s hockey defenseman Kaleb Denham.

The Human Kinetics Spartan Athlete Awards went to women’s track and field third-year multi-eventer Katie Maryschuk and men’s track and field second-year sprinter Aidan Kits.

The School of Business Spartan Athlete Awards went to women’s soccer fourth-year defender Lindsey Pulice and men’s soccer third-year midfielder Mitchell Urzinger.

The Student Therapy awards went to Joseph Songcayauon, who worked with women’s volleyball, and Emily Herle, who worked with men’s soccer.

The Joshua VanDyck Servant Leadership Memorial Scholarships went to second-year defender Amy Gartke and fourth-year defender Taylor Johnson.

The Spartans also honoured their graduating seniors in a special ceremony.

Graduating senior athletes

Men’s hockey Ryan Bakken, PJ Buys, Blair Murphy, Jamie Russell, Mattias Schmidt

Men’s soccer – Jarvis Ambaka, Brayden Gant

Women’s soccer – Sarah Kim Bergeron, Vanessa Kovacs, Ali Oliverio, Jolayne Whitmarsh

Track and field/cross country – Ross Browne, Blair Johnston, Sarah Inglis, Dylan Kelso, Emma Nuttall, Katelynn Ramage, Hazel Ross, Jamie Sinclair, Kevin Solano, Dylan Williamson

Men’s basketball – Kelvin Smith

Women’s basketball – Kristin Ford

Men’s volleyball – Tyler Koslowsky

Women’s volleyball – Mariel Garcia

The Spartans also honoured departing men’s soccer head coach Pat Rohla, as well as departing assistant coaches Jason Keegstra (men’s basketball) and Neil Turner (women’s soccer).

The athletic therapy staff honoured long-time massage therapist Ron Mayne with an appreciation award as will not be returning to work with TWU next year.

The Athlete of the Year Award is selected by the Spartan Athletics Awards Committee from the coaches’ nominations and awarded to a varsity athlete who is outstanding in the following areas: athletic achievement, quality of character, role model/TWU representative, academics.

The Scholar-Athlete Award is selected by the Spartan Athletic Awards Committee and awarded to the male and female graduating varsity athletes who best exemplify scholastic and athletic achievement.

The Bahta Melles Servant-Leader of the Year Award is selected by the Spartan Athletic Awards Committee from the coaches’ nominations and awarded to the varsity athlete who best exemplifies the Spartan Athletics Mission Statement and the attributes of Spartans Hall of Fame member Bahta Melles.

The Male and Female Rookie of the Year Awards are selected from team rookies of the year and voted on by the Spartan Athletics Awards Committee.

Just Posted

54-40 thrills Aldergrove Fair crowd: VIDEO

54-40 were joined on stage by the band members’ dancing children, the “Aldergrove Rockettes”

ZONE 3: Luck played no part in getting Riley Ward to the BC Games

Langley baller flouts misfortune on the floor; he’d rather get by on hard work

Third straight loss ends Langley’s Junior B Thunder season

The local squad could not snare a win against the Port Coquitlam Saints.

Giants bringing Point Roberts talent to Langley

The Vancouver Giants have announced a new signing.

VIDEO: New doctors, but fewer spaces for patients in Langley

Retirements have left some Langley residents without a family physician.

BC Games: Day 2 comes to an end

Hundreds of medals have been handed out at the 2018 BC Summer Games in the Cowichan Valley

B.C. mining company, involved in 2014 spill, ordered to pay lost wages

Mount Polley Mining Company must pay wages to 26 employees who were laid off without proper notice

Two significant wildfires burning in southeastern B.C.

More than 20 fires were burning in the Southeast Fire Centre as of Saturday afternoon

Volunteers provide the glue that keeps BC Games moving

The 2018 Cowichan Summer Games had more than 2,300 volunteers on hand across Vancouver Island

No Name brand chicken nuggets recalled due to possible salmonella

Canadian Food Inspection Agency says multiple illnesses reported in B.C., Alberta and Ontario

Lodeiro scores twice to help Sounders beat Whitecaps 2-0

Seattle’s Nicolas Lodeiro opened the scoring in the fifth minute when he converted a penalty kick

Fraser Surrey Docks mechanic dies on the job

‘This is a very sad day - a worker went to his job this morning and didn’t go home’

Race walker breaks 18-year-old BC Games record

Zone 6 athlete Olivia Lundman crossed finish line with ease, to loud cheers in Cowichan


A brief look at action from the 2018 BC Summer Games in the Cowichan Valley

Most Read